Spoiler Sync
Geo- for grown-ups
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
  GamesGames   


Bookmark this site!
Spoiler Sync

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> GPS nuts & bolts
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Haggis Hunter
Founder member


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 2487
Location: The building site formally known as Edinburgh!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 5:05 pm    Post subject: Spoiler Sync Reply with quote

I have ran Spoiler Sync, and I now have a folder full of gumf with 7 pictures in it. How do I get the pictures from the folder onto the PDA?

I am sure it's really easy, but you know what I am like when it comes to techy gadgets!! Embarassed
_________________
Let me know if I say anything that offends you
I might want to offend you again later Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mr Chizu
Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 338
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also been wondering about this - it says on the webpage for it that it's completely integreated with Cachemate but I have no idea how... My best suggestion is to upload them to your PDA as you would any file and download a free jpg browser for it (although I've not done this so I don't know how that would work).
For our trip to Paris I uploaded them to my ipod - ok but that way you don't get file names for each picture and you have to remember which pic is for which cache!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighlandNick
Founder member


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 635
Location: Highlands, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With your PocketPC synced (you can do this can you?) copy (or cut) and paste to a folder on your Mobile Device.

You will need the Spoiler Sync plugin from CacheMate. Plugins have to be selected from the Preferences section in CacheMate to run.

Further details are available in the accompanying text doc which is with the downloaded plugin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Haggis Hunter
Founder member


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 2487
Location: The building site formally known as Edinburgh!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I am confused, it's not a PocketPC but a Palm, presuming they are different?

I do have the palm synced though, prsuming you are meaning my personal programmes like cachemate are now loaded?
_________________
Let me know if I say anything that offends you
I might want to offend you again later Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
HighlandNick
Founder member


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 635
Location: Highlands, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In that case, I don't know how your Palm does it as my post was for a PocketPC!!!!

But you could look HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Haggis Hunter
Founder member


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 2487
Location: The building site formally known as Edinburgh!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help Nick, it turns out that I hadn't loaded an additional programme for loading pictures onto the PDA. It appears to be a long way round for doing it, but I now have them on my PDA.

HOORAY!! Very Happy
_________________
Let me know if I say anything that offends you
I might want to offend you again later Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Rose & The Thistl
Member


Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 121
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoa ... there's MORE new stuff! Shocked
I'm still trying to get to grips with paperless caching, having bought a 2nd hand palm off ebay. The computer is going to suck more hours out of my day! Crying or Very sad Laughing

Whilst I'm here, and having just got going with GSAK - how come some of the caches download to my GPS with little treasure chest icons and some download with little blue flags (which I can only find in the waypoint menu and not the geocache menu)? .... AND can I change this before downloading? Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klossner
Member


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Rivergrove, Oregon

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The little blue flags are additional waypoints for the caches. These might include recommended parking spots, trailheads, and the several stopping points of a multi-cache. The last four or five characters of their waypoint names should correspond to the last part of a cache ID. For example, PK12345 might be the parking spot for cache GC12345.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Big Wolf
Founder member


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 577
Location: Carnbroe, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may note that when you send the caches to your GPS you should get a list of GPS symbols on the top left of the page. You should be able to change them so that the child waypoints (parking, trailhead, etc) end up with something meaningfull on the screen. If you need a screen shot to explain this further then just ask
_________________
www.BigWolf.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Big Wolf
Founder member


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 577
Location: Carnbroe, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, if anyone is interested I now have my ipod macro for GSAK working with spoler sync so that you can get a link in the cache info to the photos (including the caption.) Couple of minor bugs but its working well if anyone wants to have a go with it.
_________________
www.BigWolf.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Rose & The Thistl
Member


Joined: 08 Aug 2007
Posts: 121
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys for your responses. Big Wolf, the tweak you suggested has sorted my problem. Cheers
Thumbsup Thumbsup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> GPS nuts & bolts All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Create your own free forum now!
Terms of Service Purchase Ad Removal Forum Archive Report Abuse