GCz - anyone tried it?
Geo- for grown-ups
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
  GamesGames   


Bookmark this site!
GCz - anyone tried it?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> GPS nuts & bolts
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dunk090
Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2007
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:55 pm    Post subject: GCz - anyone tried it? Reply with quote

Am in the process of trying to decide whether to get an iPhone. No real reason other than my overwhelming addiction to gadgets Embarassed ...and my current PDA/phone is sooo last year Rolling Eyes

Anyway, I came across this freeware app today. Basically looks like the developer has made a good attempt at replicating the Gecocahing iPhone app on the Windows Mobile platform. Have installed it & got it working - the integration with Google Maps is pretty impressive.

Anyone else tried it?
_________________
I hate nano's!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighlandNick
Founder member


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 635
Location: Highlands, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes
I have it on my Kaiser / TyTn II
I mentioned this in a thread lower down (earlier) about Caching in the US.


Last edited by HighlandNick on Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:15 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dunk090
Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2007
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HighlandNick wrote:
Yes
I have it on my Kaiser / TyTn II


...and? What do you think of it?
_________________
I hate nano's!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighlandNick
Founder member


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 635
Location: Highlands, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its quite good...

If you have a contract
And if there is 3G coverage....

and you don't have a way of getting cache info ready prepared. I usually do via GSAK / PQ's / MemoryMap in the UK.

GeoCachingLive is another one you should look at.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighlandNick
Founder member


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 635
Location: Highlands, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My responses above were based on Gcz. GCz II is now available - it looks even better than its predecessor.
Available here for WM5/6 users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dunk090
Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2007
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HighlandNick wrote:
My responses above were based on Gcz. GCz II is now available - it looks even better than its predecessor.
Available here for WM5/6 users.


Yes, I've been using it for a few days now & it is quite good. By no means have I explored the many features, but it has been useful for ad hoc searches. It appears to have the capability to import LOC or GPX files too, so no longer totally dependent on having wireless coverage.
_________________
I hate nano's!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scottiedogz
Member


Joined: 20 Dec 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris/Graculus did a ta\lk on this at the Mega I think & I am sure he told me he was in favour of it. He's up here in Scotland on holiday this week but has got internet access so you could email him if you want any guidance on how to get the best from it
Jacqueline
Scottiedogz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighlandNick
Founder member


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 635
Location: Highlands, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GCz v1 was quite different in some respects from the new v2. I had been using v1 for about a year now and only recently found about v2.

However, I was pleased to find out about v2 (via this forum - thanks Dunc!!) and have been using it out and about for the last week or so.

It has got a few new features that seem to be quite good.
As well as
>Searching by Postcode,
........ it will do the following
>Search by Cache Code (ie GC number)
>Search for nearest Caches as reported by Current Location (inbuilt or BT GPS needed)
>Search for nearest Caches by coordinates entered manually
>Search by Cache Name
>Search by Cache Owner
>Search by UserName if cache has been found by that person
>Search for Trackable by tracking number
>Search by Trackable name.

I had a few problems with the initial setup, but now have it sorted.

I used v1 extensively in the US recently when I turned up in an area that I hadn't anticipated and could then search "on the fly" for nearby caches.

Here's some screenshots of it in action. Clicking on the thumbnail will load a larger image...

I decided to search for caches nearest to this postcode:EH1 3.. (Last 2 letters not needed)



I got these results



Selecting the first one on the list (Two by Two)..



I get the Description and other useful information...



Calling up GoogleMaps gives me a scaleable map...




My inbult GPS tells me it is still some distance away Crying or Very sad



If anyone would like any further info, please feel free to post here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> GPS nuts & bolts All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Create your own free forum now!
Terms of Service Purchase Ad Removal Forum Archive Report Abuse