Newbie compatibility question
Geo- for grown-ups
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
  GamesGames   


Bookmark this site!
Newbie compatibility question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> SMC contour maps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nigelm
Member


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Location: North West England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:35 pm    Post subject: Newbie compatibility question Reply with quote

Hello all. Very informative site. The contours facility looks great.
I'm soon to be getting my hands on a Vista HCx with USA basemap. I plan on initially trying the free non Garmin European basemap download from the Metrogold web site for use in UK where I live: http://www.geodude.nl/gps/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=13

Question - will I be able to use the contours map with this or will I have to buy a genuine Mapsource map from Garmin.

Thanks for your time.

nigelm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dino
Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Location: Killygordon, Co. Donegal

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you get your new GPSr there should be a copy of Trip and Waypoint Manager and/or World Map. This will install Mapsource for you which will then allow you to use the SMC contour maps
_________________
No one is listening until you fart!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nigelm
Member


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Location: North West England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.
I'll be giving it a try soon.

Regards,
Nigelm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scotsbob
Founder member


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 594
Location: Hamilton, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hate to ask but why are you getting the USA basemap and not the europe map version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dino
Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Location: Killygordon, Co. Donegal

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably as the unit is coming from the US at a fraction of the cost and the basemap is useless no matter where it comes from Smile
_________________
No one is listening until you fart!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nigelm
Member


Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Location: North West England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:03 pm    Post subject: US exchange rate Reply with quote

Dino - you took the words right out of my mouth.

Regards,

nigelm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scotsbob
Founder member


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 594
Location: Hamilton, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just thought I'd ask although I thought I knew the answer.


Welcome to the forum Nigelm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> SMC contour maps All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Create your own free forum now!
Terms of Service Purchase Ad Removal Forum Archive Report Abuse