contours V2 help
Geo- for grown-ups
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
  GamesGames   


Bookmark this site!
contours V2 help

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> SMC contour maps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
westy
Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:41 pm    Post subject: contours V2 help Reply with quote

hello all,

first off, thanks for all the work that must have gone into the contours V2. outstanding!!

i have succesfully downloaded and can now view the contours/topo images on mapsource. however, i'm having a few problems:

i can't view both the mapsource basemap? and the contours V2. it's one or the other

tiles? sorry i can't see anything related to the screenshots on the help guides. i guess this is why i can't send to my GPS-it keeps asking me to select a map/waypoint/track and i have no maps to select, although the contours detail is there in the main window, but there is no detail on the left hand side 'map' tab

i cant find any summits/poi's etc, although again they are 'there' in the main window

is this all due to the fact that i have no 'mapsource' software other than the 'trip and waypoint manager V3' installed?? do i need to install eg city select or some other garmin product?

apologies, but i'm a bit new to this,

kt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wildlifewriter
Founder member


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 948
Location: Norn Iron

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:46 am    Post subject: Re: contours V2 help Reply with quote

westy wrote:

(etc)
is this all due to the fact that i have no 'mapsource' software other than the 'trip and waypoint manager V3' installed?? do i need to install eg city select or some other garmin product?


Hi KT.

Yes, the guide applies to operation of Mapsource with a mapping product - though any installed product will do.

The "Trip and Waypoint Manager" software only does what its name implies - it is not a map installer.


Sorry.

-Wlw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
westy
Member


Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just figured out how to do it..........

using the 'map tool' on the toolbar i can select all the map areas and 'essentials' turning them pink when selected by the map tool.

i now have everything shown in the 'map' window, just as it appears in the user guide, and have succesfully transferred the complete contours V2 to my garmin 60csx.

use of the 'map tool' and a few sceenshots would be a useful addition to the user guide.

again, thanks for a great bit of software!

happy new year

kt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wildlifewriter
Founder member


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 948
Location: Norn Iron

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2006 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

westy wrote:
use of the 'map tool' and a few sceenshots would be a useful addition to the user guide.


I take your point, but it was never my intention to write a manual on the operation of the whole Mapsource user interface itself (that's in Garmin's documentation), but only the specific issues with Contours V2.

Anyway, glad you got it working.


-Wlw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> SMC contour maps All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Create your own free forum now!
Terms of Service Purchase Ad Removal Forum Archive Report Abuse