VISTA help
Geo- for grown-ups
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
  GamesGames   


Bookmark this site!
VISTA help

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> SMC contour maps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AIDON
Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Inverness

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:37 pm    Post subject: VISTA help Reply with quote

I am running windows VISTA home premium and con no longer load the contours v2 on my system

Every time I run the reg edit mapsource crashes and I have to go to reg edit and remove product contours vs
any help greatly appreciated. I am using Quo software and all my old routes are on the Garmin mapsource
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfred39
Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Northern ireland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:25 pm    Post subject: Contours V2 folder Reply with quote

Hi there, I recently bought a Garmin Etrex Vista HCx - as well as upgraded to Windows Vista Home Premium and had the same problem.

The trick is to create a folder in the C:Programs/ folder called Garmin.
Create a Contours V2 folder in there and then store the map data in that folder.

This is actually where the Reg file points the Mapsource program to - NOT the C:Garmin folder as you have probably been trying.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

CFred39
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Wildlifewriter
Founder member


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 948
Location: Norn Iron

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the contribution, cfred.

So you are saying: the existing registry files work OK on Vista - but it's important to have to folder path correct, yes?


-Wlw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cfred39
Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Northern ireland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 9:08 pm    Post subject: Vista Reply with quote

Yes - thats exactly it!

That would have made a shorter reply too I must admit - lol - but when you have to teach co-workers how to do things on computers, you tend to get into the habit of being a bit long-winded.

Regards,

CFred39
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
AIDON
Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Inverness

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Created new folder and it works a treat. many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trilobite
Member


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Menstrie

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:25 pm    Post subject: Vista Reply with quote

I guess I had better update the SMC site for Vista users!

I had to buy a box the other day and of course it came with the wretched Vista pre-installed. Half my software is unhappy. Looks good, but crocodiles lurk under the swamp. Grrrrr! Luckily my knackered XP PC is up and running again, so now I have a Vista PC under the table waiting for the future. Evil or Very Mad

Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Wildlifewriter
Founder member


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 948
Location: Norn Iron

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to expand on this issue for those techies who are interested...

Historically, these problems have arisen because different versions of Mapsource were set up by good ol' Garmin to use varying default folder locations.

The variance C:\Garmin as compared to C:\Program Files\Garmin is typical.

I think this has settled down a bit recently, but it was a nightmare a few years back.

Check, check, and check again is the only way to be sure that a given installation does not have path conflicts.


-Wlw
_________________
A brussels sprout is for life, not just for Christmas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> SMC contour maps All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Create your own free forum now!
Terms of Service Purchase Ad Removal Forum Archive Report Abuse